NORTHWESTERN COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 2 BOARD OF EDUCATION 30953 Route 111 Palmyra, Illinois 62674

REGULAR MONTHLY BOARD MEETING JUNIOR/SENIOR HIGH LIBRARY Wednesday, June 20, 2018 7:00 P.M.

The Regular Monthly Board meeting of the Northwestern Board of Education was held on Wednesday, June 20, 2018, at 7:00 p.m. in the Junior/Senior High Library with President Jim Powell presiding. Linda Eades led in prayer.

Board members attending the meeting were: Maggie Kuykendall, Mike Graham, Linda Eades, Brock Campbell, Joe Launer and Jim Powell. Jason Waters was absent.

Others present were Superintendent/Elementary Principal Patrick Bowman, Junior/Senior High Principal Jeff Abell, Matthew Phillips, Greg Reynolds, Fred Roberts and Debbie White.

A motion was made by Joe Launer and seconded by Brock Campbell to approve the consent agenda with additional bills. Those voting yes were Launer, Graham, Campbell, Kuykendall, Eades and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mike Graham and seconded by Brock Campbell to enter into executive session for the purpose of the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees of the district. 7:43 p.m. Others attending were Jeff Abell, Patrick Bowman and Fred Roberts. Those voting yes were Campbell, Eades, Launer, Graham, Kuykendall and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Brock Campbell and seconded by Mike Graham to return to open session at 8:00 p.m. Motion carried.

Jason Waters entered the meeting at 8:05 p.m.

A motion was made by Mike Graham and seconded by Maggie Kuykendall to approve the executive session minutes as read and keep confidential. Those voting yes were Waters, Kuykendall, Eades, Graham, Launer, Campbell and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Linda Eades and seconded by Brock Campbell to approve John Clark's letter of intent to retire after the 2020-2021 school year. Those voting yes were Eades, Campbell, Launer, Kuykendall, Waters, Graham and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Joe Launer and seconded by Mike Graham to approve Bailey, Reynolds and Roberts to conduct Superintendent search for the Superintendent to begin in the 2019-2020 school year. Those voting yes were Kuykendall, Waters, Graham, Eades, Campbell, Launer and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Jason Waters and seconded by Brock Campbell to keep all executive session minutes closed and dispose of recorded minutes over 18 months

old: 8/17/16, 9/21/16 and 11/14/16. Those voting yes were Launer, Graham, Campbell, Waters, Kuykendall, Eades and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Jason Waters and seconded by Mike Graham to approve 2018-2019 Treasurer's Bond for Sandra VanBebber. Those voting yes were Campbell, Eades, Waters, Launer, Kuykendall, Graham and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mike Graham and seconded by Brock Campbell to approve Macoupin County Prevailing Wage Resolution and post through the Regional Office of Education. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Maggie Kuykendall and seconded by Mike Graham to approve 2018-2019 Title 1 Plan/School Wide Plan. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Linda Eades and seconded by Jason Waters to approve the Student Handbook and Grading Scale changes for the 2018-2019 school year. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Maggie Kuykendall and seconded by Mike Graham to dissolve the grant funded Birth-3 Early Childhood program as determined by the Illinois State Board of Education action not to approve funds for the 2018-2019 school year. Those voting yes were Kuykendall, Waters, Graham, Eades, Campbell, Launer and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Brock Campbell and seconded by Joe Launer to approve Bookkeeper Matt Phillips and Superintendent Patrick Bowman to pay bills due in July 2018 due to no July meeting. Those voting yes were Launer, Graham, Campbell, Waters, Kuykendall, Eades and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Linda Eades and seconded by Mike Graham to adjourn the meeting at 8:10 p.m. Motion carried.

_____ President

_____ Secretary