## NORTHWESTERN COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 2 BOARD OF EDUCATION 30953 Route 111 Palmyra, Illinois 62674

## REGULAR MONTHLY MEETING JUNIOR/SENIOR HIGH LIBRARY Wednesday, August 16, 2017 7:00 P.M.

The Regular Monthly Meeting of the Northwestern Board of Education was held on Wednesday, August 16, 2017, at 7:00 p.m. in the Junior/Senior High Library with President Jim Powell presiding. Jason Waters led in prayer.

Board members attending the meeting were: Jason Waters, Joe Launer, Brock Campbell, Linda Eades, Mike Graham, Maggie Kuykendall and Jim Powell.

Others present were Superintendent/Elementary Principal Patrick Bowman, Jr./Sr. High Principal Jeff Abell, Matthew Phillips, Lisa Rascher and Debbie White.

A motion was made by Joe Launer and seconded by Mike Graham to approve the consent agenda with additional bills. Those voting yes were Eades, Graham, Kuykendall, Waters, Campbell, Launer and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Jason Waters and seconded by Mike Graham to enter into executive session for the purpose of the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees and safety procedures of the district. 7:14 p.m. Also present were Patrick Bowman and Jeff Abell. Those

voting yes were Campbell, Waters, Launer, Graham, Kuykendall, Eades and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mike Graham and seconded by Brock Campbell to return to open session at 7:21 p.m. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Brock Sonneborn and seconded by Mike Graham to approve the executive session minutes as read and keep confidential. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mike Graham and seconded by Jason Waters to adopt FY18 Tentative Budget and set Budget Hearing for September 20, 2017 at 7:00 p.m. Those voting yes were Kuykendall, Campbell, Waters, Launer, Eades, Graham and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Jason Waters and seconded by Mike Graham to accept the resignation of: Karen Dennis (0-3 Specialist), Ashley Breitweiser (JH Science/Social Science/Health) and Mike Butcher as Bus Driver. Those voting yes were Waters, Launer, Campbell, Eades, Graham, Kuykendall and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mike Graham and seconded by Brock Campbell to hire Brandi Paluska as Birth to 3 Specialist for the 2017-2018 school year. Those voting yes were Eades, Graham, Kuykendall, Waters, Campbell, Launer and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Joe Launer and seconded by Jason Waters to hire Scott Summers as Junior High Science/Social Science/Health teacher for the 2017-2018 school year. Those voting yes were Campbell, Waters, Launer, Graham, Kuykendall, Eades and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Brock Campbell and seconded by Mike Graham to hire Kevin Williams as Bus Driver for the 2017-2018 school year. Those voting yes were Graham, Kuykendall, Eades, Campbell, Launer, Waters and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Jason Waters and seconded by Mike Graham to hire Shannon Connolly as a paraprofessional for the 2017-2018 school year. Those voting yes were Launer, Eades, Graham, Kuykendall, Waters, Campbell and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Brock Campbell and seconded by Mike Graham to approve Karie Pollard as Senior Class sponsor and Debra Walch as Freshman Class sponsor for the 2017-2018 school year. Those voting yes were Kuykendall, Campbell, Waters, Launer, Eades, Graham and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mike Graham and seconded by Joe Launer to accept sealed bids on 2000 Chevrolet Suburban to be opened on September 20. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Brock Campbell and seconded by Mike Graham to accept Fertilizer Bid for the Scottville School Farm from M & M Service Company. Those voting yes were Eades, Graham, Kuykendall, Waters, Campbell, Launer and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mike Graham and seconded by Jason Waters to approve November 2017 School Board Conference Expenses for Patrick Bowman, Linda Eades, Brock Campbell & Maggie Kuykendall for total costs of \$194 per night. Those voting yes were Campbell, Waters, Launer, Graham, Kuykendall, Eades and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Brock Campbell and seconded by Mike Graham to approve Warren-Boynton Bank Resolution(s) for Internet Banking and Payments. Those voting yes were Graham, Kuykendall, Eades, Campbell, Launer, Waters and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Linda Eades and seconded by Mike Graham to adjourn at 7:30 p.m. Motion carried.

 _ President
 _ Secretary