NORTHWESTERN COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 2 BOARD OF EDUCATION 30953 Route 111 Palmyra, Illinois 62674

REGULAR MONTHLY MEETING JUNIOR/SENIOR HIGH LIBRARY Wednesday, August 17, 2016 7:00 P.M.

The Regular Monthly Meeting of the Northwestern Board of Education was held on Wednesday, August 17, 2016, at 7:00 p.m. in the Junior/Senior High Library with President Bryan Thomson presiding. Linda Eades led in prayer.

Board members attending the meeting were Graham, Waters (entered at 7:07 p.m.), Launer, Pitchford, Powell, Eades and Thomson.

Others present were Superintendent/Elementary Principal Patrick Bowman, Jr./Sr. High Principal Brandi Maxedon, Matthew Phillips, Lisa Rascher, Kimma Ross and Debbie White.

A motion was made by Mike Graham and seconded by Bryan Thomson to approve the consent agenda with additional bills. Those voting yes were Powell, Eades, Pitchford, Launer, Graham and Thomson. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Jason Waters and seconded by Linda Eades to enter into executive session for the purpose of the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees and safety procedures of the district. 7:30 p.m. Others present were Patrick Bowman and Brandi

Maxedon. Those voting yes were Waters, Launer, Eades, Graham, Pitchford, Powell and Thomson. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Linda Eades and seconded by Jim Powell to return to open session at 8:15 p.m. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mike Pitchford and Mike Graham to approve the executive session minutes as read and keep confidential. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Linda Eades and seconded by Mike Graham to adopt the Tentative FY17 Budget as presented. Those voting yes were Launer, Pitchford, Waters, Eades, Graham, Powell and Thomson. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Jason Waters and seconded by Mike Graham to purchase and trade Floor Scrubber as presented. Those voting yes were Graham, Waters, Launer, Pitchford, Powell, Eades and Thomson. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Jason Waters and seconded by Linda Eades to approve Collective Bargaining Agreement with the Northwestern Teachers Association as presented through the 2018-2019 school year. Those voting yes were Powell, Eades, Pitchford, Waters, Launer, Graham and Thomson. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mike Graham and seconded by Jim Powell to accept the resignations of: Seth Shultz as elementary teacher, Danlee Whitler as Guidance Counselor and Andee Sonneborn as part-time cook. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Jason Waters and seconded by Bryan Thomson to hire Kera Bishop as Elementary Teacher for the 2016-2017 school year. Those voting yes were Eades, Graham, Powell, Launer, Waters, Pitchford and Thomson. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Linda Eades and seconded by Jason Waters to hire Katie Soer as District Guidance Counselor for the 2016-2017 school year. Those voting yes were Pitchford, Waters, Graham, Powell, Eades, Launer and Thomson. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Jason Waters and seconded by Mike Graham to hire Stacy VanHuss as part-time cook for the 2016-2017 school year. Those voting yes were Launer, Pitchford, Waters, Eades, Graham, Powell and Thomson. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Jim Powell and seconded by Mike Graham to hire Nicholas Atkins-Harris as Elementary Teacher for the 2016-2017 school year. Those voting yes were Graham, Waters, Launer, Pitchford, Powell, Eades and Thomson. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mike Graham and seconded by Linda Eades to approve Casey Spears and Ashley Breitweiser as Golf coaches, Kelsey Pembrook as High School Assistant Volleyball coach and Jon Dierkes as Volunteer Assistant Football coach for the 2016-2017 school year. Those voting yes were Powell, Eades, Pitchford, Waters, Launer, Graham and Thomson. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Jason Waters and seconded by Mike Graham to approve a \$.50/hour increase for all Paraprofessionals currently employed and increase

starting wage to \$9.00/hour for new hires. Those voting yes were Waters, Launer, Eades, Graham, Pitchford, Powell and Thomson. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mike Graham and seconded by Linda Eades to approve a 2.5% increase for all current Non-Certified Staff. Those voting yes were Eades, Graham, Powell, Launer, Waters, Pitchford and Thomson. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Jason Waters and seconded by Jim Powell to approve a 2.5% increase for all Non-Certified Contractual Employees. Those voting yes were Pitchford, Waters, Graham, Powell, Eades, Launer and Thomson. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Linda Eades and seconded by Jason Waters to approve a 2.5% increase for all Certified Contractual Employees. Those voting yes were Launer, Pitchford, Waters, Eades, Graham, Powell and Thomson. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Linda Eades and seconded by Mike Graham to adjourn the meeting at 8:25 p.m. Motion carried.

 President
 Secretary