NORTHWESTERN COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO.2 BOARD OF EDUCATION 30953 Route 111 Palmyra, Illinois 62674

REGULAR BOARD MEETING JUNIOR/SENIOR HIGH LIBRARY Wednesday, April 19, 2017 7:00 P.M.

The Regular Meeting of the Board of Education was held on Wednesday, April 19, 2017, at 7:00 p.m. in the Junior/Senior High Library with President Bryan Thomson presiding. Jason Waters led in prayer.

Board members attending the meeting were: Jason Waters, Joe Launer, Linda Eades, Mike Graham, Mike Pitchford, Jim Powell and Bryan Thomson.

Others attending the meeting were: Superintendent/Elementary Principal Patrick Bowman, Matthew Phillips, Lisa Rascher, Brock Campbell, Maggie Kuykendall, Carrie Campbell, Melissa Graham and Jeff Abell.

A motion was made by Linda Eades and seconded by Jason Waters to approve agenda/minutes from the March meeting. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Linda Eades and seconded by Mike Graham to adjourn *sine die* at 7:06 p.m. Motion carried.

The Regular Meeting of the Board of Education reconvened at 7:08 p.m. in the Junior/Senior High Library with Vice- President Jim Powell presiding.

Board members attending the meeting were: Linda Eades, Mike Graham, Brock Campbell, Jason Waters, Joe Launer, Maggie Kuykendall and Jim Powell.

Nomination for Patrick Bowman to act as President Pro-tem for the election of School Board President. Those voting yes were: Waters, Powell, Kuykendall, Eades, Graham, Campbell and Launer. Motion carried.

Nomination of Jim Powell for School Board President. Motion carried.

Nomination of Joe Launer for School Board Vice President. Motion carried.

Nomination of Linda Eades for School Board Secretary. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mike Graham and seconded by Brock Campbell to approve consent agenda with additional bills. Those voting yes were Waters, Powell, Kuykendall, Eades, Graham, Campbell and Launer. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mike Graham and seconded by Brock Campbell to enter into executive session for the purpose of the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees of the district. 7:43 p.m. Those voting yes were: Graham, Campbell, Launer, Powell, Waters, Eades and Kuykendall. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Jason Waters and seconded by Brock Campbell to return to open session at 8:25 p.m. Those voting yes were Powell, Kuykendall, Eades, Graham, Campbell, Launer and Waters. Motion carried. A motion was made by Mike Graham and seconded by Joe Launer to approve the executive session minutes as read and keep confidential. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Brock Campbell and seconded by Jason Waters to approve Junior High/High School Principal Jeff Abell to a 3 year contract beginning with the 2017-2018 school year. Those voting yes were Campbell, Launer, Powell, Waters, Kuykendall, Graham and Eades. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mike Graham and seconded by Brock Campbell to accept the resignation of Carey Lansaw and Josh Roberts as Junior High Baseball Coaches and post for the positions. Those voting yes were Kuykendall, Campbell, Waters, Launer, Eades, Powell and Graham. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Jason Waters and seconded by Mike Graham to approve renewal of Junior High Sports Cooperative Agreement with Greenfield for Junior High Boys and Junior High Girls Basketball. Those voting yes were Eades, Graham, Campbell, Waters, Launer, Kuykendall and Powell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Joe Launer and seconded by Mike Graham to approve Maternity leave for Ashley Mullen next fall. Those voting yes were Kuykendall, Waters, Eades, Powell, Launer, Graham and Campbell. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Brock Campbell and seconded by Jason Waters to approve Future Senior Trip guidelines to 3 nights maximum, 250 mile radius and to be completed by graduation. Those voting yes were Waters, Powell, Kuykendall, Eades, Graham, Campbell and Launer. Motion carried. A motion was made by Mike Graham and seconded by Jason Waters to approve Final 2017-2018 School Calendar. Those voting yes were Graham, Campbell, Launer, Powell, Waters, Eades and Kuykendall. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Joe Launer and seconded by Mike Graham to approve High School Course Description Guide for the 2017-2018 school year. Those voting yes were Powell, Kuykendall, Eades, Graham, Campbell, Launer and Waters. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Linda Eades and seconded by Mike Graham to adjourn the meeting at 8:31 p.m. Those voting yes were Launer, Eades, Graham, Kuykendall, Powell, Waters and Campbell. Motion carried.

_____ President

_____ Secretary